Is Lionel Messi playing today? Full details for Argentina vs. Poland at World Cup 2022

Connect with us

Despite Argentina’s shaky start at the 2022 FIFA World Cup, their superstar Lionel Messi has still managed to shine brightly. 

The 35-year-old, likely appearing at the tournament for the last time, has scored in both of their games so far in Qatar. 

Messi opened the scoring from the penalty spot in a shock 2-1 loss to Saudi Arabia, before he broke the deadlock from distance in a crucial 2-0 win over Mexico. 

Argentina came into this World Cup as favourites but look like they’ll need Messi to once again work his magic if they are to leave Qatar with silverware. 

MORE: Which teams have qualified for the Round of 16?

When is Messi’s next World Cup match?

Messi and Argentina will next be in action on November 30 in their final group game against Poland. 

Argentina currently sit second in Group C, one point behind Poland who lead the group, and are only ahead of third-placed Saudi Arabia on goal difference 

As such, the South Americans really need to win this match to secure their place in the round of 16. 

Messi will once again be key for Argentina and has been involved in all three of their goals in Qatar to date (two goals, one assist).

The 35-year-old has notably played every minute of the World Cup to date and could be given an early mark against Poland if his side do manage to get on top. 

Argentina match schedule and results

Date Match Time (ET) Stadium
Tue, Nov. 22 Argentina 1 Saudi Arabia 2 5:00 a.m. Lusail Stadium
Sat, Nov. 26 Argentina 2 Mexico 0 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium
Weds, Nov. 30 Poland vs. Argentina 2:00 p.m. Stadium 974

Potential knockout round schedule — if Argentina finishes 1st in Group C

Date Match Time (ET) Stadium
Sat, Dec. 3 Round of 16 2:00 p.m. Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium
Fri, Dec. 9 Quarterfinals 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium
Tue, Dec. 13 Semifinals 2:00 p.m. Lusail Stadium
Sat, Dec. 17* Third Place Match 10:00 a.m. Khalifa International Stadium
Sun, Dec. 18 Final 10:00 a.m. Lusail Stadium

*Only in event of defeat in semifinals

Potential knockout schedule — if Argentina finishes 2nd in Group C

Date Match Time (ET) Stadium
Sun, Dec. 4 Round of 16 10:00 a.m. Al Thumama Stadium
Sat, Dec. 10 Quarterfinals 2:00 p.m. Al Bayt Stadium
Wed, Dec. 14 Semifinals 2:00 p.m. Al Bayt Stadium
Sat, Dec. 17* Third Place Match 10:00 a.m. Khalifa International Stadium
Sun, Dec. 18 Final 10:00 a.m. Lusail Stadium

*Only in event of defeat in semifinals

Argentina vs. Poland start time

For the second game running, Argentina will kickoff at 10 p.m. local time in Qatar on November 30. 

Here’s how that time converts across the world: 

  Kickoff time
Qatar 22:00 (local)
USA 14:00 ET
Canada 14:00 ET
UK 19:00 GMT
Australia 06:00 AEDT*
India 00:30 IST*
Hong Kong 03:00 HKT*
Malaysia 03:00 MYT*
Singapore 03:00 SGT*
New Zealand 08:00 NZDT*

* Following day

Argentina vs. Poland live stream TV channel

This final Group C match will be played at Stadium 974. Here’s how you can watch all the action in some of the major global territories.

  Date Time TV Channel Streaming
USA Wed, Nov. 30 14:00 ET Fox
UNIVERSO
fuboTV,
Fox Sports site/app,
UNIVERSO Now,
Peacock
Canada Wed, Nov. 30 14:00 ET TSN , RDS (French) TSN site/app,
RDS app
UK Wed, Nov. 30 19:00 GMT BBC One BBC iPlayer, BBC Sport website
Australia Thu, Dec. 1 06:00 AEDT SBS SBS On Demand
India Thu, Dec. 1 00:30 IST Sports18 Voot, JioTV
Hong Kong Thu, Dec. 1 03:00 HKT Now TV (Ch. 616, 618) Now TV
Malaysia Thu, Dec. 1 03:00 MYT Astro Arena 2 Astro GO
Singapore Thu, Dec. 1 03:00 SGT StarHub FIFA World Cup,
Singtel FIFA World Cup 141
Singtel TV GO, CAST,
StarHub TV+, MeWatch
New Zealand Thu, Dec. 1 08:00 NZDT Sky Sport 7 beIN Sports Sky Go, Sky Sport NOW

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *