Miller, Varney Named to USA Field Hockey U-21 National Team

DURHAM – Duke field hockey juniors Hannah Miller and Josie Varney were named to the 2022 USA Field Hockey U-21 Women’s National Team following a recent four-day selection camp at Queens University in Charlotte.
Miller and Varney are two of 22 players named to the U-21 Women’s National Team, while eight additional athletes were selected for the 2022 U.S. Women’s National Developmental Team. The pool consisted of athletes selected from the 2021 Young Women’s National Championship along with a small group of players who were identified by U.S. Women’s National Team High Performance Staff during the 2021 collegiate season.
“This was a tough selection process with so much talent on display at the camp, but we’re confident we’ve selected a balanced, all-round squad with athletes who can develop and compete under the pressure of international competition,” said Tracey Paul, U-21 USWNT Head Coach. “I am excited to begin working with this group and look forward to seeing what they can achieve.”
Miller, a forward, is a three-year starter for the Blue Devils. The native of Malvern, Pa., has 18 goals and eight assists for 44 points in her career and is coming off a four-goal season in 2021. A starter in every game of her career, Miller garnered NFHCA All-Region honors as a rookie in 2019, scoring 11 goals in her 21 games. She has been a mainstay in the USA Field Hockey system and helped the U.S. U-19 squad capture gold at USA Field Hockey’s Young Women’s National Championship in 2019.
A midfielder, Varney also has been a constant in Duke’s starting lineup during her career. She has a goal and two assists for her career and has been a stabilizing force in the middle third of the field.  Like Miller, Varney also was a member of the U.S. U-19 team that captured gold in the summer of 2019. Varney has started 44 of her 52 games as a Blue Devil.
Miller and Varney will travel to Chula Vista, Calif., February 23-27 for a training camp with the squad.
2022 U.S. U-21 Women’s National Team
Mackenzie Allessie (Mount Joy, Pa.), Kaitlyn Benton (Lansdale, Pa.), Isabella Bressler (Leesport, Pa.), Margo Carlin (Drexel Hill, Pa.), Kennedy Cliggett (Warrington, Pa.), Megan Conors (San Diego, Calif.), Emma DeBerdine (Millersville, Pa.), Katie Dixon (Cary, N.C.), Pyper Friedman (Phoenix, Md.), Lee Ann Gordon (Louisville, Ky.), Madison Kahn (Ocean City, N.J.), Caroline Kelly (Malvern, Pa.), Caylie McMahon (Stow, Mass.), Hannah Miller (Malvern, Pa.), Sofia Pendolino (Hummelstown, Pa.), Caroline Ramsey (Morristown, N.J.), Annabel Skubisz (Houston, Texas), Abigail Tamer (Whitmore Lake, Mich.), Kiertsen Thomassey (New Albany, Ohio), Reagan Underwood (Sinking Spring, Pa.), Josie Varney (Smithfield, Maine), Rayne Wright (Bethlehem, Pa.)






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *