Rugby League World Cup 2022: Who are the current champions?

Connect with us

After five years and a COVID-enforced postponement, the Rugby League World Cup will return this October.

Australia will be defending their title from 2017, but will have plenty of competition from the likes of New Zealand and Samoa.

The Kangaroos will also be hoping to win their record 12th RLWC title, with only Great Britain and New Zealand the other nations tasting previous success. 

MORE: RLWC 2022 full squads | RLWC 2022 full draw and schedule

Who are the current Rugby League World Cup champions? 

Australia are the current RLWC champions, having won the title back in 2017. 

The Kangaroos also won the RLWC in 2013, while New Zealand lifted the trophy for the first and only time in 2008. 

Here’s a full list of RLWC winners since its inception in 1954. 

1954 Great Britain
1957 Australia
1960 Great Britain
1968 Australia
1970 Australia
1972 Great Britain
1975 Australia
1977 Australia
1985-1988 Australia
1989-1992 Australia
1995 Australia
2000 Australia
2008 New Zealand
2013 Australia
2017 Australia

How many Rugby League World Cups have Australia won?

Australia have won 11 titles to date, including the last two tournaments in 2013 and 2017.

New Zealand have won just one title, while Great Britain have won three. 

The last time Australia didn’t win the RLWC was in 2008, with the Kiwis upsetting the Kangaroos. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *